Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Mollie
Chatterbox
Wigan in Lancashire
Mollie is female  Mollie has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-04-2012, 12:02 AM

Trading Standards?

Should I get in touch with them?

Following on from another topic in General, and just to reiterate, my local shop, where I've been shopping for over 25 years, has just been taken over, and the previous staff have had to go, much to the distress of many.

Anyway. I went in there on Sunday evening to get my usual bits and pieces but, on Monday evening when I went in, the prices had shot up.

The cigarettes I buy have shot up a whopping 66p per packet from £5.13 to £5.79! A cheap bottle of wine previously costing £2.98 went up by 17p to £3.15. There are lots of other things as well, but surely this can't be right?

I know there's just been a budget, but even accounting for that, those prices shouldn't have increased by so much so, do you think I'd be in order to contact Trading Standards?
Chippy
Yorkshire UK
Chippy is male  Chippy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-04-2012, 12:05 AM

Re: Trading Standards?

I doubt it would do any good Mollie. A corner show can charge what they like unless the price is displayed on the packaging.
Mollie
Chatterbox
Wigan in Lancashire
Mollie is female  Mollie has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-04-2012, 12:13 AM

Originally Posted by Chippy ->
I doubt it would do any good Mollie. A corner show can charge what they like unless the price is displayed on the packaging.
Well, it's a mini supermarket really, and I do understand what you mean, but putting on a mark-up like that is not going endear their customers.

In fact, methinks I'll have a toot in the Tesco mini-market near me tomorrow night to compare costs. The shop I've mentioned originally was NISA, but now it appears to have been taken over by a totally independent person.