Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Antibrown
Cumbria UK
Antibrown is male  Antibrown has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

24-02-2011, 07:32 PM

Are you being wasted

I have lots of technical expertise in various trades and friends and neighbours, even the local school keep coming for advice or help so I dont feel like my talents are being wasted.

I have a friend who is a joiner by trade, ran his own business and since he retired he has only used his talents on a couple of occasions.

Since you retired (if you are) do you feel that any talents that you have are being wasted?
Barry
Chatterbox
North Notts
Barry is male  Barry has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

24-02-2011, 08:06 PM

Re: Are you being wasted

As my wife is eight years older than me I retired early by choice to do things with her before the time was lost to us. In the first year or so of retirement I turned down requests for consultancy work for that reason and the requests petered out after that, and to be honest since I retired I haven't really felt that I wanted to go back to using my lifetime's knowledge, I've put enough years in. Having said that, if any of my grandkids or family needed to know anything that I knew, then I would be happy to spend the time with them. Other than that I don't feel that I owe the world anything else.
Uncle Joe
Chatterbox
Brighton UK
Uncle Joe is male  Uncle Joe has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

24-02-2011, 09:04 PM

Although (compulsory) retired from paid employment for some years, I was a founder member of a (voluntary) Law Centre and still continue to provide representation at Tribunals even to this day, notwitstanding the local Council forced the closure of the Law Centre more than 15 years ago.
Jem
Chatterbox
Dublin
Jem is male  Jem has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

24-02-2011, 11:28 PM