Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Falcone
New Member!
South Yorks
Falcone is male 

09-06-2010, 07:51 PM

Evening all!

Hi,

Just joined the forum, took the hint and decided to introduce myself!

My name is David, I live in South Yorks. I'm 54 and about to leave the world of work – yippie!

Whether I can afford to or not is another matter of course! Actually I believe I can. I'll be 'time rich and cash poor' but I'm happy with that.

I have been a secondary school teacher for the last 31 years. Was going to hang on until my 55th birthday next year and take my reduced pension but the 'b**gers' have got to me and frankly for, 'sanity and health' I've decided I have had enough and, have enough savings (bang goes the camper van I had been saving to 'maybe' buy!) to see me through 'til then (next April). So I handed in my resignation. Six weeks left – just about survive, I think!

Thought I'd check out a few sites and look for canny suggestions and hints and tips from others to eek out that reduced pension and savings.

Look forward to reading through the forums and contributing.

David.
Azz
Admin
South Wales, UK
Azz is male  Azz has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

09-06-2010, 07:55 PM

Re: Evening all!

Hey David, welcome

I don't know much about pensions etc - but hope you don't lose too much by retiring early (we do have a money & finance section where you might want to post tho).

I don't blame you retiring early - I'd much rather be time rich and cash poor

What did you teach? ...and should we call you Sir?
Falcone
New Member!
South Yorks
Falcone is male 

09-06-2010, 08:10 PM

Hi Azz,

Thank you for the welcome.

I have probably failed already as this is my second response to this - my first seemed to disappear in to the ether - no doubt, I'll end up with two almost identical missives!