Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Cookiecate
Chatterbox
Blackpool
Cookiecate is female  Cookiecate has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

02-04-2010, 01:13 PM

Arthritis - Help please

I have been going to see an orthopaedic surgeon for a couple of years now with the intention of getting new knees when I have lost weight.

This last time (on Monday) I fully expected him to put me on the wating list for some new knees.

The pain has become so bad that I cannot sleep at night. I cannot walk and even standing in the kitchen is a bit of a nightmare.

This is not easy as I have always been a hard working gal. I have worked as a cook standing for many hours early morning to late nights. I have worked in a shop again long hours on my feet and finally I worked as a nurse walking miles around hospital corridors and sometimes being on my feet doing a double shift.

I am overweight and that is no lie. However, my knees have worn out. I used to walk everywhere I never learned to drive and walked miles to school, work and pleasure. My legs have served me well but they are now worn out.

My babies were huge things 11lbs or more. Yes my poor old pins have had their share of weight.

The doctor said that an operation when you are overweight is dangerous there are risks of clotting and infection and I don't like the sound of that at all.

I asked him how I could manage the pain which is really bad and he said lose weight or use a stick.

Well the doctor has given me co-codamol and ibuprofen and we have also tried tramadol which didn't seem to help it is almost like a really bad toothache which hurts and hurts until I think I can't take anymore and then it might stop and it seems worse at night my knees are also swollen.

Now I am not writing this saga for sympathy but there might be people out there who have had similar experience with pain and I would so like to get your advice.