Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
RunYoung50
New Member!
Nottingham, UK
RunYoung50 is female 

07-10-2015, 09:53 PM

Runners over 50

Hi everyone,
I think there are some other runners on here. I started running at 47 when I said I'd do a leg in a relay team at the Robin Hood Marathon for a charity where I volunteered. I've been running for 4 years now and feel as if I'm getting younger as well as fitter.

I go to my local parkrun (5k run in a park every Saturday) and there seem to be quite a lot of people getting into running in their 50s and 60s.

I'm writing a blog about women runners over 50 in the UK (purely for interest not to make money) and plan to interview women runners about their experiences.

What sport do you do to keep fit and how long have you been doing it?

Katie
carol
Chatterbox
Derbyshire.
carol is female  carol has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

07-10-2015, 11:42 PM

Re: Runners over 50

Hi Katie. Welcome to the forum. I like to go on countryside rambles - usually there are a few hills to climb. Also I swim twice a week and go to the gym when it's too wet to go walking.
Suzuki Sue
Chatterbox
West Yorkshire
Suzuki Sue is female  Suzuki Sue has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

08-10-2015, 06:53 AM

I use to run a lot when i was younger and suppose i still can, but i put on weight and need to lose it to get fit again, the most i run is for the bus or across the road these days...
susan m
DORSET UK
susan m is female  susan m has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

08-10-2015, 08:10 AM

Hi katie , I've known a few runners and a number of them have suffered later in life with joint problems . Some have had to have new hip replacements and others new knees . It's something that I have often wondered about when I see people running along pavements especially .