Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
mbwoman
New Member!
Myrtle Beach, SC
mbwoman is female 

02-10-2014, 05:57 PM

I'm Over 50 . . . How did THAT happen?

Hi all! I have been searching for a forum for "Over 50s" for some time. The internet is so SO full of so SO many things and it is hard to narrow in.

I am 54, divorced but in a relationship and have two "almost grown" sons. My older son is 20 and out on his own (at least he is today!). My younger son is a senior in high school and has plans to go away to college in the fall (providing he makes all the right choices during his senior year!).

This is one of the reasons why I am seeking out some birds of a feather. I have been working at a university for the past 17 years. In my current position for 6. Although I like the culture and security of a university (and the hours are GREAT!) I am facing my "next step" in life. With my son going off to school next year I no longer have to live in a certain school district. Or the same house, city, or state if I don't want to. I want to move to a more rural area - my current place of residence is growing waaaaay too fast! I am VERY bored with my current position and know that I cannot possibly do this for the next 15 years. I wish I was one of those folks who had a lifelong calling and the courage and means to pursue it once the kids are on their own. But I am not. But I want to be.

So as not to make this a three page intro let me throw this out there . . . for those of you who decided to just "do something different" . . . how did you find out what that was??

Too generic a question? I will try to hone in on something specific. Just wanted to get my middle-aged feet wet!

Cheers!!
Mags
Supervisor
South West UK
Mags is female  Mags has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

02-10-2014, 06:02 PM

Re: I'm Over 50 . . . How did THAT happen?

Hi Vivian . a very warm welcome to Over50s....

I hope you enjoy your time here with us.
Meg
Supervisor