Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
ZsaZsa
Miskolc Hungary
ZsaZsa is female  ZsaZsa has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

10-07-2014, 12:21 PM

What am I doing living here!

It's not very often I feel grumpy or regret my decision to live in Hungary but this morning was one of them and all because of something totally trivial!

I decided to give the inside of my gas stove a good clean, something I've been putting off for the past 4 months,the excuse always being that since my hip replacement it's difficult to get up from a kneeling position. (Kidding myself of course because it hasn't been a problem for weeks now).

Get together everything I need and start cleaning the inside but trying to reach the back, put my hand on the door which opens downwards, and in doing so the interior glass panel collapses! *****! Get the manual out to see how to remove the door thinking I might be able to repair it myself only to find it's in Hungarian. ****! Don't even bother to try Google Translate knowing from past experience I'll only get a load of gibberish.

I'm now resigned to waiting until my friend Erika calls round tomorrow morning to ask her help with the translation and to remove the door. Hopefully she'll also know of somewhere in town where I can get it repaired.

On reflection and as an ex-pat who's lived overseas for most of my life, I know I've fallen (for a few minutes) into the trap of blaming the country in which I live for any woes I have.

Sorry Hungary for blaming you for my feeling inadequate!

Grumble over!
Patsy
Chatterbox
UK
Patsy is female  Patsy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

10-07-2014, 12:40 PM

Re: What am I doing living here!

Ah - I feel for you gal
Hope it is soon sorted and you can get back to normal - whatever that is
Hopefully the two of you can work it out .....
Eliza
Chatterbox
England