Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

25-03-2014, 10:55 PM

Panic stations

Yesterday, Mum was being extra difficult, and I came home feeling very depressed.
I decided to go and wash my car and the dogs were spending their time between playing in the garden and watching me out of the front window.
I went back in the kitchen for something and didn't realise I hadn't shut the side gate properly, which I've never done in my life before. The dogs noticed the gate blowing open and decided to toddle off out the front to see me, not realising I had gone indoors.
Next thing I knew was the youngest one yapping and dashing into the kitchen, eyes like saucers and very upset. I wondered what was wrong with her but then quickly wondered where the other 3 were. I ran outside and to my horror found the gate flapping and the dogs gone. To make matters worse, the school run was in full flight and there were people, cars, kids, and even a bus stuck in the school traffic outside. I thought they'd all be killed.
A lot of people wouldn't approach 3 dogs they didn't know, so I can't begin to tell you how very, very grateful I was to spot a man and his wife standing a couple of hundred yards away, holding my 3 dogs safely on the pavement, I could have cried. He was just about to ring the dog warden. What lovely people. Then they helped me get them back home safely and went on their way.
I think what had happened was, they thought they'd be clever and pop out to see me washing the car, but when I wasn't there they ventured a bit further but got confused with so many people walking along, and couldn't find me. Even the very aged, deaf, arthritic old gal had toddled off with them! She is so deaf she would never have heard a car coming.