Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Grumblewagon
Aberdeenshire
Grumblewagon is male  Grumblewagon has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

12-01-2013, 11:18 PM

Audience participation..

I hate watching shows where I can't hear what's going on because of all the cheering, whooping and clapping of the audience. I get the feeling that they only want to be there - not to watch the show.

This reminds me of an incident some 40 odd years ago. I was an engineering student at Queens University Belfast and at the weekends, I used to work in a music shop repairing amplifiers, speakers, organs etc..

One day, the manager - Billy - asked me to go with him to a 'Loyalist' club in a dodgy part of the city. We drove there and when we stopped, Billy found a scruffy urchin, gave him some money and told him to look after the car.

Inside was a very busy social club with a decent band playing on stage. Billy pointed out repairs to the ceiling and explained how they got there. Apparently one night, the crowd was a bit rowdy and the MC couldn't calm them down. Eventually, he said "I'd like you to meet a friend of mine" - Lots of cheers etc.....

At this point, a masked man walked on stage with a sub-machine gun and proceeded to fire it into the ceiling above the audience. They dived for cover and the room went quiet. The MC said "Let's keep it like that" and the gunman walked back off stage!

I don't suggest that we employ those tactics, but sometimes I'd like to spray the audience with treacle (or something smellier) to shut them up!
Willow
UK
Willow is female 

13-01-2013, 09:51 AM

Re: Audience participation..

I thought the whole point was audience participation!
Grumblewagon
Aberdeenshire
Grumblewagon is male  Grumblewagon has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

13-01-2013, 10:44 AM