Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Willow
UK
Willow is female 

30-12-2012, 03:12 PM

Any twitchers out there?

Last week I was looking out of the window and there in a tree were approximately 20/30 black/grey birds with crests on their heads, the like of which I had never seen before. Fortunately our eldest girl was able to confirm I was actually seeing what I was seeing. We looked on-line, and in our bird book, and the only bird which matched the description of the birds we saw was the crested lark. However, they are very rare, usually inhabit the ground and unlikely to be seen in a village setting, very strange. Has anyone got another explanation?
Robert Junior
Chatterbox
UK
Robert Junior is male  Robert Junior has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-12-2012, 03:34 PM

Re: Any twitchers out there?

I am no expert, but WAXWINGS fit your deescription. THey are quite exotic looking and the CREST is an important feature.

"The waxwing is a plump bird, which is slightly smaller than a starling. It has a prominent crest. It is reddish-brown with a black throat, a small black mask round its eye, yellow and white in the wings and a yellow-tipped tail. It does not breed in the UK, but is a winter visitor, in some years in larger numbers, called irruptions, when the population on its breeding grounds gets too big for the food available."
"
Willow
UK
Willow is female 

30-12-2012, 03:51 PM

No they definitely weren't waxwings, they are far too pretty for the birds which we saw.
Robert Junior
Chatterbox
UK
Robert Junior is male  Robert Junior has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-12-2012, 04:02 PM

OK,
I said I wasnt an expert.

How about a crested tit or a goldcrest, firecrest?
Mags
Supervisor
South West UK
Mags is female  Mags has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-12-2012, 04:22 PM